New girl!

Hello out there!

Just wanted to say hi. At 54 years young I have just started running and subscribed to my first RW. My aim is to build up slowly, fun run in the new year and half marathon May/June time. Feeling nervous/excited, so many questions on diet, running gear, training plans etc but feeling liberated and can't wait to get started. Any advice gratefully received image

Comments

• Hi,i can not give you an advise because i am new too,i just want to tell you to enjoy it ...like me.....on sunday is my first race and i can not wait......my dream is to finish in a marathon...i am 42... i wish is not to late...image

• Good luck.. it is never too late...enjoy your race and see you one day in a marathon....image

• Likewise I'm a newbie too so no real advise from me, but good luck with hitting your targets and enjoy it.
  • Yes i will try to remember that...never too late....thank you....yes one day...image

• Take it easy find a schedule that you can follow and don't get carried away with it - that is when injuries occur - and above all enjoy it because that is what it is all about.

• Thank you Grendel3, very true, enjoying it is what matters.

• Hi Shazza and welcome to RW I am sure you will find so much support here. I am also 54 and started running a few months ago. I would suggest you start with a plan and take it slowly till you build your fitness assuming you are not already super fit? I am doing the NHS couch to 5k (C25K) which includes podcasts which tell you when to walk and when to run which is great if you are training alone. I also go out once a week for my long slow run with my son (Back 2 Basics on the forum) we normally do 5k run/walk maybe you could get a friend to come along with you.

Good Luck

• Regarding the plan, simply stick to it. If you feel great after your run DONT try to do that extra 1km on top. Just stop and save your energy for the next run.