older newbie

I would like to say hi to everyone, over the last few days I have been reading posts on the forums and have taken the plunge to sign up. I am new to excerise in general, only about 6-8 weeks ago I started going out for so called jogs with a friend as we decided to sign up to do a 5k. Well our jogs were more of walks and talks with about 5 minutes if that of jogging over a 3 mile walk. We did do our race and came in at 40mins I know not good but, we were not last and we did finish it, even though we did walk a part of it. On the whole we did more jogging than all of our so called training lol.

The thing is, now I have done the race I feel that I want to carry on and follow a proper c25k plan, I actually enjoy getting out there, yes I have many aches and pains but with the slight changes I already have noticed, body shape etc its all worth it. This week I have done two small attempts 1 mile distance run/walk with my young son, today managed to jog full half mile (very slowly) a few seconds rest then back, did have to walk for a short while but already doing more than I have before.

Can anyone tell me anything about the Gymboss minimax as I was thinking of getting one to help with timing could by a watch but at the moment its early days so thought a Gymboss might be the best for now, any advice would be great. Look forward to starting to chat to you all.

Comments

• Hi there welcome, can't offer any advice on the gymboss, but well done on completing your first race. It doesn't matter if you had to walk part of it because you did it which is more than lots of people. As you keep up with your training you will get faster and manage longer stints, and soon you'll be running all the way.
  • Never heard of a gymboss before but I have googled it and it would appear to be an interval timer .. pretty much a cooking timer on an armband  image