Newbie Runner

Hi All, I am a newbie here so please be gentle with me! 

I am just starting out on my running journey, only previous experience was running / jogging 5k which I did on a treadmill and thinking back i never really clocked my times or any improvements.  

Since then my fitness has extended to regular step and spin classes but never really much running.  

I have signed up to the Great Manchester Run in 2014 - 10k.  I also want to attempt a half marathon in the September / October time. 

Yesterday I went to Sweatshop and got fitted for a proper pair of running shoes as my trainers are a tad too small and have a tendenciy to make my feet go numb. 

First run tonight - either on the roads or at the gym on the treadmill.  I have set up an Asics plan although it says not to start until December, so until them I am just going to do interval Run / Walk training to try and up my staminar.  I then may redo my plan if my ability increases at all.  

Have read through a few diaries on here and found them so interesting and motivating especially Booktrunk's diary, that I thought i would keep my own diary to hopefully see how my progress improves. 

If anyone has any tips I would be very gratefull to learn from your experience. 

xxx

Comments

• Good luck!

Take it slow and steady. I think we should create a standard post that we can take turns copying and pasting to all newcomers.

1: Go Slow

2: Don't go out more then 3 times a week to begin with ... .etc... image

It's common sense, and you know what not to do as you read about all my early mistakes image Going to quck etc.... It really is a case of taking it steady to get used to it.  

As much as anything it's also getting you in the habit of getting you used to sayng ok it's x time so i'm going out running, and before you know it your little jogs are part of your plan and your a runner.