Jacket for the winter weather

Hi everyone,

I am looking for a suitable jacket now winter is approaching.I am a bit baffled by the choice out there. I need something lightweight, breathable but that gives some protection against the elements. I get quite warm, quite quickly. I don't want to spend too much (£50-£60). I am still pretty new to running but am out for a couple of hours at a time.

Many thanks.image

Comments

• Mr BoatMr Boat ✭✭✭

Plenty of info on jackets in the hundred or so other threads asking about jackets. Have a search.

• The Marmot precip will probably fit your budget; have a google for some reviews; they're normally pretty decent.  I have one, but I'm yet to wear it.  If it's raining I just normally get wet.  But some races I enter require a waterproof jacket to be taken (with some other stuff), so I take the Marmot.

Mrs Easy has an Atomic Montane she uses for fell races, which she says is top bannana, but probably outside of your price range.

• I don't think you need spend that much. Check out lidl and Aldi. They do lightweight rain jackets and thicker ones as well.

I've spent ??150 on cycling jackets and can't really see there's a huge difference between that and a cheaper one in functionality. It might look a bit better but otherwise....
  • I would disagree with cougie. I have a Castelli Legger waterproof / wind resistant jacket that I bought for a marathon I ran earlier this month. It peed down non stop. I also wore it on Saturday in Beachy head 10k race, though I was warm it offered great protection against the wind. I don't cope with the elements so need better protection than most. It's worth paying for better quality clothing. You get a better product. I don't cope with weather very well at all so what I require maybe more than most. I wear gloves in the summer to stop my fingers going white.

http://castelli-cycling.com/en/products/detail/908/

I have a range of windproof jackets as well but these aren't waterproof.