Progressing from a half marathon to a full within 7 months

Hi, just need a bit of advice really with regards to whether my plan is feesable. I recently completed my 3rd HM in 2:01 I could have got under the 2 hours but got held up a bit. My last 2 hm's were in the 2:04's so was pretty happy to get close to 2 hours.

Anywhoo I would like to complete a full marathon next and there is one in May next year near to where I live which would be ideal. But Ive been reading stories of how much harder it is to do compared to the HM. Ive been running for a few years now and find it difficult to get my pace in the 8 min per mile range so im apprehensive as I dont want to end up at the back of the field or crashing out completely. Id like to finish in 4:30-5hrs. Everytime I cross the finish line of an hm though im always blown away at how people can possibly run that distance again!

Just need to know from those that have, how much more difficult is it to complete?

Thanks!

Comments

• You'll be fine. Most training plans are based around a 16-20 week schedule so you are well prepared to start one come late January/February. You'll find that with a gradual build up you will be coping with the long runs perfectly well. probably worth entering another half or two to give you an intermediate goal between now and then.  Enjoy.

• Dan a lot of the toughness of a marathon isn't physical but more mental because most of us will at one point think why the funk I'm I doing this and you have to dig deep sometimes to get to the end. As long as you pick a training plan and try to stick to it you should be ok.

You need to get in some long runs in before the marathon and wheez is spot on above. I would have a play around with training plans and see what fits you.

You've probably going to find that your times will increase with miles without you noticeing as well.

Which marathon are you fanicing?