How long did it take you to run continuously?

I'm finding it hard to quit walking! Now I know there is nothing wrong with walking to recover my breathing and I do try and set mini goals (I will only walk to that lampost, or I will run for another 100 steps) but I honestly thought I would be able to string together more of my run sections by now. I can just about manage to run a mile before I need to walk, but then after that it is all run/walk/run/walk. I have managed to do this for 5 miles as I am rather foolishly training for a marathon, and if I run/walk it I will still be chuffed to bits but it got me wondering how long it took others to run 30 minutes without walking.....image (I started 8 weeks ago but I have never run in my life and I am about a couple of stone chubbier than I should be!)

Comments

• From the description youve given Cascita i wouldnt worry at all image

Your a TOTAL beginner so its going to be very difficult from the start. Run/walk strategy is fine for now as its clear thats all your aerobic system can manage.

This will improve over time (dont expect over night) but also you need to be able to push yourself that little bit further once in a while.

No one improves by just staying the same each session.

Also i know its hard to judge at this stage but how hard are you running the 'run section' as sometimes people think they are not going too fast but really it is for their personal level of comfort.

• you are doing well.

have you thought about joining a club........most have beginner sections now.or running with someone else.uits amazing that when you are chatting with someone you get to a couple of miles without realsiing it

• Are you training for a specific marathon, and if so how many weeks have you got?

It took me many months before I could run continuously. Losing weight will help A LOT.

• XX1XX1 ✭✭✭

What pace/speed are you running at?  Could you try running slower?