Safety whilst running, particularly for the women. Any tips please

Good morning

I am relatively new to running outside after running on a treadmill for the last year.

As I live in a rural area I have some beautiful runs near me including a forestry run wooded area with well maintained paths.

i am struggling to find a running partner and wondered if any of the female runners carry any safety things on them.

I have a few running friends through Facebook from America who run with legal pepper sprays etc but I think these are illegal over here.

does anyone know of anything that could make me feel ok about running on my own. 

I never run whilst it's dark.

thanks in advance.

Comments

• Don't run with an ipod in (or if you must only one ear), wear high visibility clothing and always let someone know where you are going and how long you will be.

• I really don't worry about safety on off road daytime runs. If you look at the stats and think about the risks (in terms of being attacked which I guess is what you are worried about) there is nothing to worry about. Most attackers or rapists or murderers are known to their victims and it is very rare for people to attacked running along a forestry path. In general nutters don't hang around beautiful forestry paths on the off chance that someone vulnerable will come past.

Basic safety things: make sure someone knows where you are going and what time you are due back, don't always go at the same time.

If you feel vulnerable maybe do a self-defence course?

I usually carry a phone with me, but that is more in case I twist my ankle or something like that.

You can get attack alarms that issue a really loud noise that work by scaring the attacker off

• I also always carry a phone with me for an emergency if I injure myself etc. I also wear an ID wristband with my name, bf name and number and allergy advice.
  • WilkieWilkie ✭✭✭

What mathschick says.