Spring marathon and summer Ironman

I have seen some references to doing this combination in various other posts but as I am doubting my ability to train effectively for both I thought I would ask the direct question.

I have entered Manchester marathon on 6 April and the Outlaw on 27 July.  I thought that becoming a better runner would help me achieve a new IM pb in July but now having focused on running for the past couple of months I think unless I put ironman training on hold for the foreseeable future I will end up disappointing myself at both events. 

I have never done a standalone marathon before but have done 3 ironman distance races.  All the 18 week marathon plans I look at online seem to suggest 4-5 running days a week which would leave me with little or no time to fit in cycling and swimming.

Is there a way to do both without significantly compromising either or should I drop out of the Outlaw now and put my mind at rest, maybe doing a 70.3 late summer instead?

Advice from those who have been there and done that gratefully received.    

Comments

• yes - very doable

you've got an experienced base behind you with 3 IM so you know what workloads you need to do.

I did my mara PB (was my 2nd marathon) and 1st IM in the same year and my training was roughly

1. build a big bike base on summer/autumn/early winter with 2 long rides a week
    2. swim and run as needed
    3. drop the weekend long ride (keep the midweek one) come early spring and focus on running lots
    4. post marathon, drop the long marathon training runs and get the bike miles built back up - no run longer than a 1/2 marathon

you can marathon train on 3 runs a week (what I did) but all quality - check out the FIRST method (I didn't but used similar principles).   it takes some dedication to do them both but it's very possible

• There was an article in one of the tri mags saying it was not a good idea a while ago with loads of supporting data.