Cyclist Safety

What are the views here on cyclist safety and how it can be improved, particularly in light of the recent carnage in London.

Personally I think we need to change the whole culture on the roads, particularly amongst cyclists. 

It doesn’t seem to me that the current cycle policy is working, and im the safety measures local councils implement work either.  They are often narrow neglected cycle lanes with a line painted on the road or some mad cap scheme like the trial below:

http://i.dailymail.co.uk/i/pix/2013/04/30/article-2317285-198EBFA8000005DC-906_634x423.jpg

Until a year ago I was firmly of the belief that drivers were overly negative to cyclists.  Having worked in London and seen the militant and selfish tendencies of many cyclists (its certainly not a minority), ive come to understand why drivers resent all cyclists so much.  Its not just in London, as a driver I see local bike groups, clubs riding with no consideration for motorists, in some cases bordering on the aggressive.

As a cyclist ive learnt to hold my space on the road, do what I can to be safe.  It just seems to me the problems are getting worse, particularly with the increasing numbers of cyclist.

What do you think, is it becoming a warzone out there?

Comments

• WilkieWilkie ✭✭✭

I know Boris has taken some stick for saying cyclists need to take more care, but he is right!

I see countless cyclists doing stupid, dangerous things in London every day.  

I walk two miles from the station to my office, and see so many cyclists go through red lights, both across traffic and across pedestrian crossings.  I saw two cyclists collide at one set of traffic lights - that was actually quite funny!

The number who have no lights and wear dark clothing is astounding.  Maybe they think that as THEY can see everyone else, so everyone can see THEM?