Crazy Heart Rate

Hi peeps.

I wonder if anyone can help/advise.

I had a crazy HR moment on our club run last night. I'm 33, I've been running for 12 years. I'm a 4:15 marathon runner. My resting HR is about 45 (it was this morning). My normal average HR for a tempo run would be about 150-60, in an interval session I might average 170. For a long slow run i'm usually around 140.

Last night I forgot my HRM, but what happened has happened before, when I've been wearing an HRM. Last night we'd done about 3.5 miles (and had stopped to re-group twice already) and we stopped again. My HR went mental. I could feel my heart burbling away (feels a bit like its beating under water and is double beating) and my guess is it would have been over 220. Last night was cold and I was running at tempo pace. But this has happened a few times before, on a long run, on an interval session and on other tempo runs. When it happens there has been no really pattern to the weather (i.e. its not cold, because this has happened when it was super hot). Those times I've had my HRM on and my HR has hit 230. I can get it to go down again, but only if I stand or sit still and then I can carry on (this wasn't possible last night as it was FREEZING!). For example I was out for a 22m run and had done about 7.5 when I stopped for a gel, and my HR escalated. I sat down for 5-10 mins it settled at 80 and then I carried on and did another 15m or so. Last night I kept running (to avoid hypothermia) but I felt heavy and like I was running through waist deep water.

Has anyone experienced this before?

I don't keep good enough notes, but there may be a common denominator of tiredness. Other than that I cant think of any reason why it would happen....

What's strange is that my breathing is fine, not at all laboured (or what I would expect for such a high HR) and it doesn't hurt, just feels strange.

Any ideas....????

Thanks!

Comments

• Unlikely that your HR would have been 230 ....