Asics GT-2000

Sadly I had to replace my GT-2170s as they were well past their sell-by date. The natural replacement were the GT-2000s, but has anyone else found them completely different?

I've been running for 5 years now and never experienced any knee pain whatsoever; since wearing these new shoes it takes about 500m for excrutating pain to kick in on my left knee. I also don't seem to be able to shake off shin splints. I've read a few reports online of people not being happy with the new version, so just wanted to confirm if anyone on here had experienced the same.

Just ordered some Brooks GTS-12 as they were on offer. Sorry Asics, I think you've lost a long-serving customer!

Comments

• Oh no - I had to scour the internet to get a pair of 2170s just before a marathon earlier this year because my last pair fell apart with a couple of weeks to go! I had been told that the GT2000s were the replacement, but I haven't tried them yet myself (as I coudn't find my size anywhere).

When this pair of GT2170s give up the ghost I'll be off to Sweatshop to get fully assessed for new shoes - which, by the sounds of it, won't necessarily be the Gt2000s. 

Did you get your gait assessed when you got the Gt2000s?

• No, didn't get my gait reassessed. Figured the 2170 were spot on so the successor would be the natural answer. I had the option of getting another pair of 2170s earlier in the year, but went for some Kayano 18s instead. Hated those too, and am now kicking myself! Hope the Brooks turn out to be suitable.

• Fingers crossed for you! And for me, when I need to replace my 2170s.