Flip Turn

Hi all,

I have mastered my swimming endurance and can do lap after lap of a 50m pool without stopping (thanks for the advice guys, it's all about relaxing and no thinking about it too much!).

I really really want to master the flip turn. My problem is that I have done martial arts for most of my life which encourages you to flip (in a throw) with a leading shoulder. This reflects that when I try and flip turn I throw my right shoulder and go off in a funny direction. I try really hard to get my bum over head but water ends ups rushing up my nose (probs because I am concentrating on the flip and not exhaling!) any tips on how to roll straight? I see 11 year olds doing this perfectly, how can I not master it!

Comments

• You do know that a tumble turn is not allowed at most pool triathlons ?
  • yea, but it looks cool image

• Ok... I prefer to practise what I will use in a race, rather than something I won't
  • I am a newbie to Tri, enjoying the process and improving. not competitively yet as I don't have a proper bike (poor student). So working on everything individually and casually before I hit comps. Sorry if it's the wrong place to post.

• Not the wrong place to post at all

But why spend time practicing something you won't use ? You don't spend time running 400 m hurdles ( well I suppose you might)

I practice turning in the same way I will in a race.

You have a bike ? So you can do a tri !
  • You risk being DQ'd if you do a tumble turn which is why it has been suggested that you don't bother practicing it. Save your energy getting the stroke right, plus if you did you do open water swim there are no walls to turn off.

Y

• It's fun to do and builds good breath control. You can't do it in a race but who cares. Tumble turns are cool as f#%k!
  • there are races that do allow it .......so you lot shouldn't generalise .......and if it makes training more fun for the guy then why not...