New to this running Malarky!!!

Hi, as it states I'm quite new to running and although I am enjoying it I wanted to ask a few questions.

Basically I entered the GSR mainly to prove to myself(and a few mates) that I could do it, I did although in a slowish time 2.13.

I have now entered the silverstone half marathon, the main reason is I wanted to try a half marathon but I was a bit worried about a smaller one in case I was horribly slow and behind everyone!! entry for silverstone is 16,000 so I'm hoping I might not be last!

I wanted to ask is what sort of standard the more local races are as I dont want to show myself  up?

Also now the nights are darker I have to run in my gym rather than outside as my eyes are terrible in the low/no light, a lot of posts on here seem to hate treadmills, are they really that bad?

And my 5k time on a treadmill is about the 39 minute mark. I feel a bit disappointed by this as I thought it would be a little faster, is there an ideal time I should be aiming for?

Thanks In Advance

Comments

• Hi Guzzle image

Let's get one thing absolutely straight... there is no way that you should feel embarrassed with your performance.   There's a lot of respect amongst runners of all abilities...   In a field 500, you have about 490 "also-rans", all doing their best to beat their own personal goals (or their mates!), and it doesn't matter if that goal is 13 minute miles or 5 minute miles.   So join in with confidence. (oh, and have a look at some Park Run results... you'll see that there's a great spread of results every Saturday.