Best Mens Running Tights?

Hi, I'm training for the marathon and want to get some decent tights to train in/ I've only ever runs in shorts before so have no idea what to go for, any suggestions? Thanks

Comments

• Why do you need to swap from your shorts ?
  • Winters over now - I'd stick with shorts.
  • why not just go all out and run in budgie smugglers? 

• Now why doesn't that surprise me David
  • Jesus, i'd heard good things about running tights and the benefits they can have on your training so wanted to try them out. I'm perfectly comfortable running in tights, and your opinions say an awful lot about all of you. This is my first time posting on here as this is my first marathon. I was looking for advice from what I was led to belive was a friendly and welcoming community, clearly I was mistaken.

• stutyrstutyr ✭✭✭

Hi Rafe, it does depend on why you want to wear the tights - is it for additional warmth or is it for compression/support?

Generally, most kit manufacturers have a least one pair of tights in their line-up.  I have a cheap pair of Nike tights and a more expensive pair of Gore Running tights.  The Nike ones are thinner material, and the finish isn't quite as good as the Gore ones - but the Gore ones were at least twice the price.  For the marathon long runs I'll favour the Gore ones, but for normal mid-week runs I'd take whichever ones are clean. Also, this kinda reflects my running wardrobe - my favourite stuff is the Gore kit but I tend to only buy it when I see it heavily reduced as the RRP is quite high.  So if you currently have a preferred brand of kit, then it might be worth sticking with them.

If you're after compression tights, both Skins and 2XU seem to be highly regarded, but I don't have any personal experience of either.