What Can I Do On Rest Days?

I'm sure this has been debated many a time, but was wondering what exercise I can do on my rest days from running.  I don't want to do nothing on my rest days, so have recently signed up to a gym.

My weekly plan is as follows:

Mon - 6+ mile run
Tue - Rest
Wed - Hills
Thur - Speedwork
Fri - Rest
Sat - 5K Parkrun
Sun - Long, Slow Distance 8+ miles

On my rest days, can I use cross trainers, exercise bikes etc. or should I really be resting the legs and just concentrating on core work?

Any advice would be greatly appreciated!

Comments

• DT19DT19 ✭✭✭

I would look at your schedule first. Without knowing about your history, goals etc- speed work, hills, park run and long run over five days seems a bit heavy. I would probably drop one and maybe alternate every other week or something. There are plenty of threads on here which will tell you how to set up a schedule.

• I've been running competitively for about 18 months and my main goal is to get my 10K and Half Marathon times down.

My fastest 10K is 43:56 and I've only ever done one half marathon which I did in 1:43:36.  I'm doing the Silverstone Half in March next year so really want to get my time down.

• DT19DT19 ✭✭✭

well i would say you need to slowly draw out your long run so that you are routinely hitting 13/14 miles. Run mondays six at recovery pace. Add in another longer midweek run at easy pace, increasing that to circa 8 miles as your long run increases. Consider doing parkrun once a month to gauge progress, instead opting for more steady miles.

Do a weekly threshold/tempo run, and do either a hills or speedwork every other week. Make sure you dont do the two quality sessions and the long run on consecutive days and have one complete rest day. On the other day you could spin or do some plyometrics or other run specific strength work.

• I go swimming on a rest day.