Fitness instructor - half marathon training question

Hi all,

I am a fitness instructor and I am about to start training for a half marathon. I teach 8-9 classes Sun-Wed and am looking to train whilst teaching - obviously looking to fit the training in around teaching. My question is - would 1 long run and 1 speed work run, be enough to improve my speed as a runner and give me good half marathon fitness? My base fitness level is very good - looking to transfer that to a run fitness level!

Any thoughts/comments/advice appreciated!!

Comments

• In short no.

have you run before? If so how far? 

You'd be surprised by how 'fit' you think you are when you say your a fitness instructor. Running's totally different to gym based classes.  image

• MillsyMillsy ✭✭✭
    As Ja5on says, general fitness and running fitness are very different.

I came into running from a background of rugby.

I found getting up to 10 miles relatively easy but really struggled after that due to a lack of specific running fitness.

I would say that you would need to aim for a minimum of 3 runs a week.

I wouldn't worry about speed sessions just get used to running the miles at an easy pace.
  • I can't imagine "good HM fitness" on less than 3 runs a week regardless of your fitness background if it is not running.  I remember a thread on here a few weeks back from someone who did gym/climbing and other sports *a lot* with their other half and thought they were *really* fit,  but were really surprised how slow their first HM effort was.  No substitute to running for running really i think.

• Improve? Yes if have come from nothing. Depends where you were in the first place.

• I would suggest the best approach here is to drop speed work and build up the easy running around your work. Easy running will develop your running physiology, in a fairly safe way. Consider a speed session when you are running 4 or 5 runs per week.