Complete beginner seeking advice

Hello there

I'm thinking of taking up running. I've always fancied it but somehow, never tried. I'm 42, normal weight, a gym goer, 3 or 4 times a week.

But even at the gym, for carido it's a bike or xtrainer! I can't explain it, like I have a blind spot for the treadmills!

I'm looking for some advice regarding a gradual training programme to follow, if anyone has any good resources?

Thank you for the help.

Comments

• I'd take a look at these for a start. Be warned if you hang around here long enough someone will talk you into a marathon or some thing sooner or later. image.

http://www.nhs.uk/Livewell/c25k/Pages/couch-to-5k.aspx

http://www.parkrun.org.uk/

• Sounds like the first thing for you is to go outside.- No need to change the treadmill blindspot.-

There are loads of training plans out there.-

Build up slowly and run at a far slower pace than you expect( It's not run for the bus running,  you should just about be able to hold a conversation).

Run walk works well for lots of people,- between lampposts or for timed segments is usually the way it's done.-

generally, just get out there and do a bit.- but try not to leave yourself broken for days afterward and don't push yourself so hard that you dread your training runs or you'll stop...

I also agree so much with the park run for motivation and finding people at a similar level to you.

Oh, and once you're sure this is something you're going to keep up to ( or the moment you start getting twinges in feet/shins/knees) get yourself to a proper running shop ( think runners need not JJB sports) and get some shoes that suit your gait.

• Thanks for the ideas. I do actually have runners shoes, fitted to my gait. My other half is a runner and so when I needed new ones for the gym, she made me get these from a running shop!

• Hi, i started running just before christmas and am just doing 5k reasonably comfortably with one or two short walks in between.  absolutely loving it!