Speed session for 5k

Whats the best range of distances for reps to get quicker over 5k? Is anything over 1k helpful? Also what kind of volume should the session be, 5k? Or less?

Comments

• Hi LSH-

I can offer some insight to sessions I have done and will do to improve my 5 and 10km time - this summer I will target 5km on track but I need to build endurance too

Few ways to go about this

1) shorter sessions to target pace

2) longer sessions to build speed but more focus on speed endurance so to speak

3) tempo runs

4) base build

I won't go into detail about too much stuff and I'm no expert - speed comes with endurance, most people can run quickly it's a question of how long for

Anyway - down to the answers

Anything from 400 upto 1 mile is fine - to build speed the volume should be near race volume but ran faster -

To make things easy for me I so the same session every week just aim to reduce pace/recoveries over time - I take my current PB and work from that on pace

5KM TRAINING SESSIONS

Firstly it's important to hit target pace , take the recovery you need but be consistent in both pace + recovery

1) 10 x 400 off 60 seconds (to be at least race pace)

2) 6x 800 off 90 seconds (race pace at least )

3) 4/5 x 1 mile off 2 minutes ( at race pace) I do 6 x a mile at 10km pace)

4) 4 mile tempo run - 20 seconds slower than race pace - per mile (to start with)

I do sometimes do a 3x2 mild session - this can be ran at a little quicker than 10km pace and will be great for strength

This will be around warm up warm down

Any questions feel free to ask
    Pain is weakness leaving the body
  • Forgot to add 5 x 1 km at race pace is perfect too

Would advise between 90-120s recovery
  • Ideally the plan would be to alternate a session per week - note target times and recovery times and start to settle hitting the target times and then reduce recovery - say by 5-10 seconds every so often -