Exhausted 'burn out' after first 5K race.

Hi there

Completed my first 5K race on Saturday and think I've burnt myself out!

I'm fairly new to running - since I learned to run 6 months ago, I have ran 5K comfortably countless times, albeit at a very steady pace, several times a week. I'm used to doing 5k three times a week and perhaps an additional 3K if time allows. But...the race on Saturday was my first timed running event. A very difficult course with a killer of a hill but managed it and got a PB, knocking 5 minutes off my usual finishing time image

However, the afternoon after the race I felt exhausted. Also - I had lost my appetite, was irritable and slept on the couch for 3 hours. I am also recovering from a bad cold which has left me with a cough....that hasn't helped, I'm sure!

Today, day after race (and I realise now this perhaps wasn't a good idea)....I ran a short 3K run with muscle aches, low motivation and a pulled muscle feeling in my foot, feeling exhausted and then slept four hours on the couch again when I got home. I still feel shattered and I know I've probably done too much! image

I'd greatly appreciate any tips or advice from any experienced runners. How can I get over a burnout like this? Any tips on after-care after a race? I usually run on an empty stomach - bad idea?

Thank you very much in advance!

Comments

• MillsyMillsy ✭✭✭
    It's probably the cold combined with the run that is causing the trouble. Wait until you have got rid of the cold and then start back on the running.

Pushing yourself when you have a virus is never a good idea. Best to loose a couple of days training seeing off the cold than loosing a week or two after trying to run through it.
  • Take a week off, chill out, relax, but make sure you have in your diary a run for next weekend, so you don't get out of the habit of running image