Threshold Run vs. Repeats for Novice

Hi All,

I was wondering which of these would be best for a novice (as opposed to complete beginner) alongside aerobic base orientated training.

I'm planning to do something like 1x long aerobic run, 2x short/medium aerobic runs & something anaerobic.

So, would I be better doing a tempo/threshold run or 400m repeats (switching to hill repeats after a few weeks)?

My thoughts are that repeats would be better as they will build strength too.

Cheers

Comments

• What has worked for me personally is not getting too involved in the structure, what, why and how. What I do instead is, sign up for an event and find an already structured training plan that will take me to that event

Pre-constructed plans already have all the prescribed elements you need to train specifically for those events.

For example, I'm following a Bupa training plan for my marathon training and it contains tempo/threshold runs, intervals and hill work right out of the box, mixed with long and easy runs in a nicely balanced way.

Even if you aren;t training for an event you can still follow the structure as they are also designed to ramp up the activity and intensity levels gradually too.

Just my £0.02

• I'm no expert and pretty much rely on my club for my quality sessions but my advice would be to alternate 1 week tempo the next repeats/hills, in my little running experience I've found mixing things up seems to provide me with better performance gains and breaks the routine.

Club sessions for me tend to alternate between Intervals, Hills and Fartlek, about once a month I add a tempo run in on my own.