Where do I start

Hi all, well i am a newbie to running (actually not even started running yet) and would love to know some do's and donts. 

A quick history of me is 2 yrs ago i weighed 22st, i am now down to 14st 7lbs, I consider my fitness level as not to bad, i am into road cycling and love my cardio boxing (approx 5 days a week i work out avg HR 160bpm for 1.5hrs). I realise that different sports utilise different muscles so this may count for nothing !

After my weight loss i have become a new person and just want to do a load of things that i never ever though i could do so I enrolled in the mens 10k up in Glasgow in June this year.

In my own mind my only niggle with running is my achilles tendon, i suffer from a bone spur at my heel which has a prominent bump and I am always paranoid of upsetting it as it caused me a lot of hassle and I dont want to go down that road again.

I am hoping to go for my first shoe fit next week and then start training.

Thanks in advance for any pointers.

Comments

• WilkieWilkie ✭✭✭

The shoe fit is going to be very important, I think.  Be sure that you are happy with the shoes before you pay for them - don't be afraid to say no if none of what you are offered feels right.

You might need to try a couple of different shops, because not all shops stock the same shoes (there are so many makes and models, they can't stock them all).

• Thanks wilkie, I have 2 shops in mind which have good feedback. What do u thi k about a training schedule or is it just walk jog and run for intervals, is there a rough distance I should be aiming / training to? Thanks