Diet

Muzza2Muzza2 ✭✭✭

I was hoping you'd be able to help me with the dark art of diet. I started training 8 weeks ago for my first half marathon, which I did in 1hr 41mins at the weekend which I was pleased with seeing I've never done much exercise before and haven't been overly sporty

Next week I start my 16 week training for my Olympic Triathlon, I didn't change my diet for my HM training and to be honest the weight has been falling off me like a junkie. I've gone down from 12st 7oz to 11st dead and I'm 5' 10", that was running three times a week and strength training once a week with a trainer.

The training for the Triathlon is a lot more than that, how much do you guys eat and what sort of things, I've looked things up on the internet but a lot of advice requires me spending hours preparing things the night before and I haven't the time

Any tips and advice, what to eat, what to avoid, how many times a day etc.

Thanks

Comments

• Muzza2Muzza2 ✭✭✭

Example of my meals now

Breakfast - Porridge with semi skimmed milk

Lunch - Chicken wrap with Salad

Dinner - Pasta meal/ Curry with rice/ omelette/ Jacket potatoe or something out of the freezer with homemade chips in the oven etc etc

Grazing on mixed nuts throughout the day. Cup of tea and bit of chocolate in the evening

• Agreed that porridge is the way forward for breakfast - found nothing else keeps me going until lunchtime!

I am a bit of a grazer so I have a couple of small rolls with ham/cheese, and cereal bars/biscuits/fruit throughout the day and then a big meal in the early evening.

Bananas and cereal bars are my lifesavers - always keep a couple with me or in my desk for emergencies! No preparation required - like you, I don't have the time to be making quinoa and beetroot salads or whatever the latest fad is! image