RW Forum Six - Sub 3:30

Comments

• Jack - Welcome. I'm a relative newbie compared to others on this thread, having run only 4 marathons. It sounds like you've got some good LSR's under your belt, so if you only take one piece of advice... Listen to Minni and don't go off too fast! At VLM 2012, i started from the wrong start pen (5), as i was running under someone else's name, and my first 5k was 27 minutes as it was so congested and i was forced to run slow. I thought this had blown my chances but ended up with a negative split and a 3.27 time. 

Oh, one final piece of advice... Don't listen to 2Old about LSR pacing as he always runs his at 10k pace!image

Minni - image Let me get this straight... You're giving up on 7.14 pace because you've got a sore throat????image Who are you, and what have you done with the real Minni??? image

• Morning all. 

Oomps - lovely to see you back in the foldimage

minni - so glad you're Ok. That cold is due to the easy week last week!! our bodies don't like us cutting down!

bro - shit - you recovered already?!! next target....?

barry - nice one. Reading tri early September. Always fun!

i tried to do 9 miles @mp today and ended up with the mother of all stitches at 5 miles. So bailed out at 6 as was in too much pain. image slight panic that if that happens in London I think I'll be on the nearest tube image

• MinniMinni ✭✭✭

Haha, no Oompa!  7:14 is too fast to maintain over the marathon distance.

image you ran VLM under a different name?  Shame on you!  I agree with you about the slow start.  People get very frustrated but its often a blessing in disguise.

• Barry - Sorry, i missed your earlier post. Your plan sounds similar to what i'm going to do as i'm sick of breaking down every five minutes. Knowing me though, i expect the swimming and cycling will be dropped as soon as i'm able to run long again.image

AA - Had you eaten anything beforehand? I often get them if i run too soon after food?