Paris Marathon 2014

Comments

• Catching up on the thread and loving this swimming talk! I'm an ex-competitive swimmer but love to go and do open water races. I'm also a swimming teacher and coach so happy to give any tips to anyone out there. The good thing is its easy to make a very big difference to your technique, and theres loads of good youtube videos that can help.
  • yer maj wrote (see)

2014 was officially The Year of The Calf Guards

I did not know that. I think I wore them in 2011 but to be honest, I can't perceive any difference during a race although I suspect they do help with recovery for the rest of the day after a mara. I'm not convinced that this fashion extends across other performance sports which makes me think it's all a bit faddy.

• orapidrunorapidrun ✭✭✭

TD - think vertical oscillation of the calf during an 18 mile + run. If the calf guard keeps them in place more and reduces bounce injury can be avoided, especially so for longer folks. They work for me, don't wear them in races though, prefer to have the breeze all over. Defo helps for post race / lsr recovery, that's for sure.

• I've been using calf guards on long runs for a few months and found them really beneficial.  No more sore calves and cramps.  TD, you run so quickly you don't need them    image

• Today's bulletin from Boston - I saw the mighty Hal Higdon (he of the training plans) at the Expo (but I was too mean to buy his book).

And also more varieties of calf guard than you could imagine. Really, how many different ways are there to encase your shins in Lycra?

• DannirrDannirr ✭✭✭

I think you should confront Hal and voice our grievances. 

• RR - wow, all the best in Boston!  Have you run it before or will this be your first?  And just marathon distance......how very restrained of you image