Overweight and unfit

Overweight 48 year old desperately trying to be fit for one of the half marathons I fail to get fit for due to either illness or injury. My first planned so far is the Shakespeare in April.

Any advice on training, weight loss and motivation techniques would be very much appreciated.

I have already completed 3 half marathons but my last one was 2009.

Comments

• Start again using something like couch to 5k, take it easy and slow. Forget that you have run before and be a total beginner, that way you will be less likely to injure yourself. If necessary start with a week of walking briskly to get your body used to the idea of doing some exercise.

You have done it before and can do it again but do not expect to lose masses of weight and suddenly have the ability to run fast in a few weeks, you are in it for the long term, plenty of time until April if you tackle it in a consistent manner and within your current abilities.

• If you have already done 3 then you know what it takes. To avoid injury you need to build up slower and/or lose the lard first. If you don't really want to do it no amount of pep talks will convince you. If it's the difference between getting around and doing a reasonable time there are a lot of plans available. 

• My advice for weightloss is - don't run to lose weight, you need to diet primarily.  Running is pretty pathetic for burning calories unless you are going to be up in the 30 miles a week plus range.  The motivation for it in a HM is that each 2 lbs you lose could be a good minute faster at the same fitness.

My personal motivation is being able to see improvement, so a log of your training runs and a regular trip to the local timed Parkrun to see how your fitness is going helps.  I love gadgets so a Garmin watch kept me (and still does) interested.

20 weeks until April, depending how overweight you are, there's a lb a week (very reasonable/conservative weight loss level to keep up) up for grabs by then!