Heart Rate

I have been running off and on for quite a few years now, but only recently upgraded my Garmin to one with a HR monitor.

I was quite shocked to see how high it is. I have been using a trainer with my bike in the garage for a while with a HR monitor, and there even when I'm going at it, it rarely gets above 160.

However, as you can see from a 10K I did yesterday, when running my HR is barely below 160.

I'm 6'5, 38 years old and only slightly over weight. I have been reading about HR zones and I am wondering if I am running too fast which is stopping my aerobic development? Or does it not work like that? Does running at a higher HR actually help more than lower?

Any advice would be appreciated.

http://connect.garmin.com/activity/492751983

Comments

• Mr PuffyMr Puffy ✭✭✭

Your heart rate means nothing unless you can see it in relation to your resting heart rate and max heart rate. Both are unique to you and can't be found by formulas. Resting is easy enough, just wear your monitor in bed or relaxing. There are several ways to find your max, just google it.

you cant really use the heart rate that you reach in a 10k race as a guide either, it's a race after all, not a controlled session planned at a designated zone that you've calculated from your rhr and max range.

• My resting HR is about 65, and even when doing a training 5K or so, its often up in the 170's for long periods.

• Mr PuffyMr Puffy ✭✭✭

You still don't know your true max though, so you don't know what that 170 means, and where it falls in the range of your working heart rate.

• Thanks for your responses, but I think I may have misled you in what I was asking.

Irrespective of what the figures are, is it better sometimes to run at aerobic levels rather than anaerobic, or is it a case of faster the better?

• Charterorsomething wrote (see)

Thanks for your responses, but I think I may have misled you in what I was asking.