Total Noob - Taking it really slowly!

Hi All, I have just joined this site because I think I have become addicted to running after just 5 days of running attempts!

It all started when I was doing 3 dog walks a morning. I spent roughly 2 and a half hours out walking back and forth, passing the same scenery and chucking the same dog slobbered Frisbee. My mind soon started to wander and I realised that despite being able to walk a 13 minute mile and despite the amount of time I am on my feet, I seem to have a bit of a round belly on me. I declared that although I was a healthy weight.... I was indeed totally out of shape, literally. Fast track and before I knew it I had stumbled across something called 'couch to 5k' image

There was no thought process involved, my friend says I am impetuous and I think she is right. I instantly knew this was for me!

So I decided that every other day I would make one of my dog walks a dog run, that way there would always be the routine and structure, meaning less chance of me giving up, missing a run etc

Our first day of running I didn't go with the couch 2 5k plan as instructed, instead I used it as mere guidelines. I would walk the dog to the fields/dirt tracks (takes 5 minutes - there is the warm up!) and then I would simply run until my legs gave the wobble code for 'ok that's enough'. Then I would walk for a minute or two to catch my breath. Repeating the process all the way round the route until I had been run/walking for 30 minutes. Then I would enjoy the nice 5 minute walk back home (cool down).

I managed to run for 30 seconds (pb 45 seconds) and my walk was about 1.30.

After my first day I set a manageable goal for myself. Every time I ran, all I had to do was simply stay level or beat my previous average times and go by what my body was saying when it came to the walking parts.