Marathons

Hi, ive been running now for 6 months and have built up my mileage slowly but am now upto 36 miles per week and want to push onto 50-60 over the next few months. Ive got a few races coming up in the next few months including a half. Im planning to run a spring marathon next year but was wondering if I should run one in October to give me experience and use it purely as a training run. Would anyone be kind enough to share their thoughts on whether that would be a good idea or not. So far my longest run is 17 miles. Thanks.

Comments

• Easy tiger. I'd think going from 0 to 60 miles per week in what 8/9 months is a recipe for injury.

You're not far off marathon training distance now - if your long run is 17 miles you only need ease that up a bit.

You could definitely run a marathon in October and use it as a learning experience.

I'd just not ramp up the distances as high or as quickly as you are planning.

The key to improvement is consistency - getting the miles in week in and week out.

The key to consistency is not getting injured.

Good luck !
  • Thanks Cougie. Great advice. Sounds like I need to adjust my thinking a little!
  • MillsyMillsy ✭✭✭
    Good advice from Cougie.

Mileage wise I'd wait until you can consistently do 36-40 a week then after your October race slowly up that to 40-45 and see how you go from there.

It took me around 2.5 yrs to move from doing 40 per week to be able to consistently hit 60.
  • Cheers Millsy. So are you saying that when you tried to move up from 40 a week earlier than that your body couldnt handle it and you got injured?
  • MillsyMillsy ✭✭✭
    More or less yes, we are all different do will take different time scales to adapt.

In my case I know that I often suffer from ITB niggles If I try and do too much too soon. Sometimes you don't realise you are having issues until a few weeks after ramping up the mileage. By then it could be too late.
  • Ok mate understood. Thanks for the reply.