Advice for a time-limited beginner

Hi all,

I'm a relative beginner when it comes to running 'properly' (by which I mean I've been trying to take running seriously for about 6 months now) and I'm after some advice on improving my performance generally.

I tried to start last year, but was limited by a back and hip injury which has now thankfully gone away.  I am currently running 10k's in just over 50 minutes, but don't seem to be able to improve on this at all.

I have a long commute to work each day (2 hours each way) which makes the time I have for weekday evening runs quite limited, but I do like to do my 10k's on the weekend.  I've tried a few runs at this distance during the week, but I'm not finding I'm getting any benefit other than feeling really tired as it's late in the evening and I don't feel I'm fueled properly.

Searching the web comes up with heaps of advice, but I don't really know what to really fix on.  Can anyone offer up any advice that they might have regarding trying to improve my performance in terms of fitness and times, as well as just making the whole process a bit more interesting?

Hope that makes sense, and apologies for the almost certain overlap with other threads on here!

Thanks!

Comments

• Generally speaking I think you need more mileage. Use the evenings as easy runs without pushing too hard, running at a pace you can have a conversation at.

Can you get out at lunchtime at all? If you could do some sort of interval session once a week on a lunchtime I think it would help. You could also squeeze in a tempo run at a lunchtime too. Hopefully lunchtimes would have you feeling less tired and better fuelled?

Use a weekend run as a long slow run which goes beyond the 10k distance and gradual make that longer, perhaps increase by 1 mile per week. Making sure it is slow, probably 90-120secs+ per mile slower than your 10k pace. If you did that on sunday you could then also run a parkrun on saturday mornings.