Bruised lower legs after running

Hi guys,

I am hoping I can get some advice with my problems, basically, about 5 years ago I used to play football semi professional, and due to personal reasons I gave up. Last year a friend asked me to play for his sunday football team, so I did that for a year and now I have been asked to go back semi professional but have been told I need to get fitter, which I know I do.

So I started practicing every other days, sometimes 2 or 3 days in a row, however I have started getting an issue with my lower legs, I played a friendly on saturday and I felt good, but 2 days later my lower legs have come up in bruises, I did not take any nocks in the game. The bruising is on both legs on the inside and outside of the calf. I tried to train yesterday but it got to the point where the pain was so bad I could not even walk! This is not good because I only have until the 23rd of June to get fit as thats when pre season training starts and I dont want to miss out!

What could be causing this? I have never suffered this kind of pain before? I have decent shoes and insoles.

If anyone could help I would be so greatful!

Comments

• It could just be that your shinpads were too tight but you would surely have felt uncomfortable at the time.

But basically, if you have unexplained bruising that is causing you serious pain you need to see your doctor.

• Hi,

thanks for the reply, I have been suffering with tight calfs but never bruising, it is sore to touch. It was not my shinpads as I thought that was my issue before when they was tight so I bought some new ones that only have 1 strap on them so I think I can rule that out.

I thought it was my shoes, everyone online says bad calfs = bad shoes so I bought some new shoes and better insoles designed for football, offering support of the foot. When I used them my legs felt better until I played this game.