First HIM

I'm doing the Marlow Half Ironman in July and will be my first at this distance.

Can anyone give me some good tips and advice?  I'm very much steady in all disciplines.  Will definitely be at the back of the field and one of the last over the line, but this is going to be a huge personal challenge for me.  I know to eat regular on the bike but any other tips you can give will be very much appreciated.

Comments

• At least I've been doing something right for a couple of years image

• remember to enjoy it!

lets be honest.... its all prep for an Ironman on my 100th birthday
  • Also agree with enjoying it - I did my first half a few weeks ago - brilliant fun! Also, if it's sunny - wear suncream. image

• Oh yes, almost forgot about the having fun part.  Have been really nervous about it!

• +2 to enjoy it,

Just take it as it comes and don't do anything stupid like try and set a speed record on the first 20 miles. If you havn't throught of it, it's handy to have some energy handy ever in transtion or on the bike. Personal choose is wine gums but I don't like gel's. Doesn't mean you have to eat wherever is your poison just better to have the option than not. Just pace it enjoy it and them after pint it. Good luck. image

• Thank you.  Think I'm mentally and physically prepared as I ever will be, so will try not to put added pressure on myself and just go with the ami of enjoying it and crossing that finish line.  Wine comes much later when the sick feeling has subsided.  Can take 6 hours image

• Nothing wrong with 6 hours. Doesn't matter if your first or last. It's going to be fun. image

• Ha ha ha.  I meant the sick feeling after I've finished the event can last 6+ hours afterwards.  I know I should eat as soon as possible after the race to aid recovery, but I seriously struggle with this because of the sicky feeling - bleurgh!

• Ice cream van at Outlaw Half - normally I can't stomach anything either for a while, but that ice cream was LOVELY. image