Shoes for Severe Overpronators

Hi,

I have been running actively for six months, distances of 5 - 10k per week. I have a severe overpronation on both feet. I am currently using a pair of shoes from Saucony, though not sure of the exact model. I have been using them for 2 years and am looking to change my pair.

Looking at the existing options, the Asics Gel Kayano 20, Asics Gel Foundation 11 and Nike LunarEclipse 4 seem to fit the bill. However, I am not sure which to go for. I do not have a price preference, but would like my shoes to me light as I often carry them along with me and the less bulkier the better.

Would anyone here (who shares my concern for overpronation) be able to advise which I should go for, or if there are other shoes that might meet my (slightly fussy) requirements?

Feedback and advice much appreciated for this runner still new to gear and kit.

Comments

• See a chiropractor or something and find out why you are overpronating so badly. Fix the problem rather than finding ways to live with it. 

• Hi Philomena,

Thanks for your feedback.

I have had a very flat foot all my life, coupled with a foot structure that bulges slightly. Having seen several podiatrist several times in the past, there isn't much that can be done other than wearing the right kind of shoe with proper stability and arch support, which I believe the above named shoes provide.

• Nose NowtNose Nowt ✭✭✭

I guess you don't live anywhere near the expertise you can get from a running shop...?

Edit... and do you have a problem with your current model?

• Hi,

Forgot to mention in my OP, both the Asics' were recommended to me by Runner's Need whilst I tried on the Nike on my own.

Essentially wanted to get some thoughts from those on this forum who might be in a similar position to myself and what they use.