Sub 10:00...

Comments

• Sometimes it's best to can a session and start again later GB.

5x2min intervals today before brekkie. The run pace is slowly coming back on line, but ultimately it's down to the fuelling the night before. Red wine, schnapps and mint moquitos don't seem to contain what I really needed.

1 hour for a 50mi TT Eng? image I've never done a 25mi TT but aim to before the year is out. That said, I think this year isn't going to produce a decent TT result - I doubt I'll scrape a 25 at the club champs which is a pisser as last year I was knocking on a sub 24 for 10mi.

• Ha! Saw 50, mind obviously doesn't entertain anything longer than a 25image
  • DaylightRDaylightR ✭✭✭

Possibly a stupid question - but given this seems to be where all the numbers geeks hang out I suspect this is the best place to ask it image:

Is there a set formula I should use to be able to take my FTP from say an 8 or 20 min trainerroad test and then use a percentage of it for a HIM or IM target wattage?

e.g. If I have a 300Watt FTP, could I do a HIM at 85% and an IM at 80%? what should those percentages be or does it depend on other factors (which I suspect)?

• DaylightR wrote (see)

Possibly a stupid question - but given this seems to be where all the numbers geeks hang out I suspect this is the best place to ask it image:

Is there a set formula I should use to be able to take my FTP from say an 8 or 20 min trainerroad test and then use a percentage of it for a HIM or IM target wattage?

e.g. If I have a 300Watt FTP, could I do a HIM at 85% and an IM at 80%? what should those percentages be or does it depend on other factors (which I suspect)?

I wouldn't say there is a set formula.

If you follow Allen & Coggan's testing protocol for a 20min or 1hr test, they then suggest 0.83 - 0.87 IF for HIM. This means your NP should be 249 - 261 W. Note that is Normalised Power, not Average Power.

I'm away from home so can't look in the book to see what they suggest for IM.