October Half Marathons

Hi all

Absolute newbie here - just registered for my first ever Half Marathon: Henley Half on 12th October. Noticed there are 2 other HMs on the same Sunday - Oxford and Royal Parks in London, anyone else training for those?

I'm yet to pick a specific training plan.. Trying to find a 12 week plan that wouldn't involve spending 15 minutes to untagle those cryptic tempo/interval sessions. Any recommendations perhaps? Main goal being to finish in one piece, but sub 2:30 would be good and sub 2:15 absolutely dreamy! image

Anyway, just thought I'll say hi and see whether anyone is in a similar boat. Would be nice to share experiences, training tips - I will take all the support I can get!!

Happy running!

Comments

• How much are you currently running?

• Average 10k a week (2 x 5k runs) for the past 4 months plus one all-day hike in the mountains at the weekends (currently live in Zurich) for general fitness.

Sounds very little, but I'm hoping 12 weeks will be enough to up the mileage sufficiently!

• I wouldn't worry about intervals and speed sessions at all then. Your main aim is to gently increase your mileage over the next 12 weeks without getting injured before the big day. About 10% increase in mileage a week is the golden rule of thumb. I'd think about trying to do a long(er) run at the weekend  (keep this nice and slow) and add a km or two to this each week. Then have two shorter runs in the week - you can run these at a quicker pace if you like, but not too hard - gradually increase the lengths of these runs. 

I find some nice easy stretching after my run has kept an injuries at bay.

The mistake I made when first up-ing my mileage was too much to fast (and had to take a whole month off!)

• What Rich said, plus squats and lunges to avoid knee problems. And have decent trainers!