Moving from 5k to 10k

Hi,

I've been training for 2 months now since returning from injury, but yet again it appears that my natural bias towards shorter distances is dominating. What can I do to improve my speed over the longer distances?

For example, I did a 23min 5k parkrun (and with plenty left in the tank at the end) a couple of weeks back, but despite having been training at up to 12.5km long runs managed only a 52min and 51min 10k race either side of it.

While in a 5k i feel like I can push myself hard to the end, I just seem to run out of energy while doing a 10k!

I'm eyeing up a coupel of 10k races during august, but will also be further increasing my long runs in preperation for training for a HM later in the year. I feel like I want to start pushing harder in my long runs, but everything Ive read seems to say that the long runs need to be very slow. The 12.5k training run i did was about 1 hour 08, is this about right?

Any ideas how I can rebalance this? As at the moment i feel like i will be heading towards a heavilly skewed 21min 5k, 50min 10k, 1:55 HM by the end of the summer?

Grateful for any help!

Comments

• What does a typical training week look like? How many miles, on which days and at what paces?

• MillsyMillsy ✭✭✭
    Great question Matty. Was just about to say exactly that.
  • JD 41JD 41 ✭✭

Since starting running again at end April / start of May ive gradually built up from one short slowish run per week (checking i was fully recovered from injury) to 2 or 3.

Typically I've been building up to the following 3 sessions each week in this order with 1 rest day between:

(Tues) Long run (approx 5:30 per km / 8:48 per mile) - although I replaced this with 10k races in 2 of the last 3 weeks as above

(Thurs) Easy Run (approx 5km at 5:30-5:40 per km / 8:48-9:00 per mile)

(Sat) Parkrun as a tempo / speed session (should be about 22:30 this week: 4:30 per km / 7:12 per mile)