Newbie niggling question!

Hi All,

I'm new to running/jogging and have a question that i would appreciate some advice on.

I'm 5ft4 and weigh 14st, stocky muscular-ish lad but still obese, the problem i have is even on day one of jogging i have got niggling discomfort in my shins, it's not painful at all but i know its there and their is a slight tenderness on the shin bone...

I don't think its shin splints, but could be wrong....

Would it be normal for an overweight newbie to have these niggles from the outset?

Cheers,

Mark.

Comments

• In short, yes.

Have you been fitted for proper running shoes and do they have enogh cushioning?

• MedicalertMedicalert ✭✭✭

When I started a couple of years back (6'1" and 14 st 7) I got exactly the same thing. It took ages and trying loads of different shoes to sort out. I spent a fortune.

The reality is that your body isn't used to it and you may well be engaging ligaments and tendons that haven't worked that hard in ages.

But there are several factors involved in shin pain. Strength of tissues in the area and in the feet. Your running style, i.e. whether you are a long striding heel striker or doing ity bity steps onto your forefoot or somewhere in between. The length and speed you are running - are you doing too much too soon? And finally as screama says the trainers.

I happen to think the last one is least important of those in as much as lots of trainers will work as the right ones given the other factors being well but in new runners those other things often take some time to get right.

The other thing to look at for a quick fix in the mean time is a good orthotic insole. If you over pronate and this is causing your pain insoles will help.