Half Marathon vs 10k speeds

So I have been running seriously for around 8 months now. My 10k speed is just starting to break the 40 min mark. I am running about 40km a week with speed intervals, speed session and one Long run a week. I have been filling in the gaps with easy runs.

Anyway. Last weekend I decided to run my first half marathon in Dundee ( The Half DRAM) I had a great time and finished with a 1:43 with a half way split of 44min. I am happy with that for a first attempt, but to be honest I was looking for something a bit faster. I have done the pace calculators online and they tell me I should be running around 1:30. This seem fast to me. What am I doing wrong Is it training? Miles? Intensity? or just bad race tactics?

Any advice or help would be much appreciated.

Comments

• DT19DT19 ✭✭✭

How did you feel at various stages of the half? Its taken you 59 minutes to cover the last 11k compared to 44 for the first 10k so a fairly substantial drop off.

When did that start? If you went through 5k in 17 minutes then its a very different story. With a 40 min 10k you should in theory be around 90 min hm mark.

How long is your long run? what do the speed interval and speed sessions look like?

• Cheers for the response DT.

My Speed sessions have consisted of

• 10 x 1km with 1.30 rest,
    • tempo runs around race pace
    • 2 x 5km with 3 mins rest
    • laps going from 1200m to 400m with 400m rest jogs between. 

My long runs have been 10 miles for quite a while but I have upped them over the last month to 12 miles. These have felt fine, I have been running these at about 4:45min/km. 

As for the race. There was a long hill drag at the start and it was very congested. I ran my first couple of miles at around 8-9min miles and sped up after that to try and get some time back. I really started to struggle around the 11 mile mark. I had nothing left in my legs and the last mile was hell! Again around the 11 mile mark there was quite a long uphill drag.