Help me recover for ultra. Please!!!

I have been training for 9 months for my first ever ultra marathon, which is on 23rd August.  I have no history of knee trouble, but I have had to abort the last 4 runs after a handful of miles, due to a painful knee 'ache', based to the outside of the knee and radiating up and down too.

My sports massage therapist thinks it's tight ITB and has done soft tissue massage, plus some stretches and strengthening exercises; also k-taping and ice. The problem is, it's not getting better. The only thing I haven't given it is rest of over a week, for obvious reasons (3.5 weeks to go).

Please can you advise?  Desperate to do this run.

Comments

• booktrunkbooktrunk ✭✭✭
    Shoes worn out and need replacing? When mine get old or I try new ones that don't work it causes a bit of a ITBand niggle? overuse is another possible thing? Basicslly rest it's few days then just put up with it, if it's ITBand you cannot make it worse from what I understand, so yes it hurts but that's it, it's not damaging anything.

If you can work out what caused it and change that then you have a reasonable chance. A lot is down to it having to take the staring as your muscles around the knee in your thigh n calf aren't taking the strain so you might need to look at strengthening them, but don't know if you can do that in 3.5 weeks.

PS: I could be talking out of my arse, hang around and see what others say  
  • stutyrstutyr ✭✭✭

I'm with booktrunk - if everything else is the same, then the most likely cause is your shoes being past their best.

With three weeks to go, you have just enough time to break in a new pair.  

Also, don't panic - the last three weeks should see you tapering down for the event, this is the time that you should be getting more rest.  In the taper period, running too little won't harm your race-day performance, but running too much can. 

• carterusmcarterusm ✭✭✭