GNR Advice

Are there any specific do's and dont's for this event. Any pitfalls or sneaky little bits of advice to make the day and race go smoother.

I am staying in Durham, booked Nirvana to get to the start and back again.

Just looking for some tips thats all.

Comments

• Travel is the key thing - and you've boxed that off.

It's a busy race - I'd forget about PB's and enjoy your day.
  • As above travel the only real issue it's very well run if crowded. If you have the time there are some nice take-away's about half a mile walk further on from the finesh line.

• So need to run with some money? What about jacket and clothing how does this work as i dont want to get to the end in my shorts and vest, it raining and then needing to walk to the bus and getting cold and stuff.

Sorry I have only run in Manchester where i live so easy to get home etc. 

Total novice at GNR.

• John there is a bag drop same basic set up as manchester manathon. So just stick some cash in your bag and have it handy when you finesh. Obviously don't stick your wallet right at the top with a sign saying it's there but even if you did that I don't think it would be a issue. The bags drop is by the overpass at the start and will be very hard to miss, will all be taken by truck to the finesh line and given back to whoever wear's the number on the bag.

Worth while having some warm clothes in the bag just in case the weather is bad. They will hand out GNR bag's plastic with a draw string, Very handy bags still got some from years again for every time I move house or something.