very confused

I am very new to running, having only started, by accident 3 months ago.   I currently do 3 runs a week, 1, a training session  with my running group, 1 longer run (I'm up to 65 minutes) and  easy  run. I may well be trying to do too much, too quickly, but I really am very confused with all the different things I'm supposed to do, speed sessions, hill sessions, intervals, tempo!!! This is without O2 and heart rate stuff. Am I supposed to run constantly staring at my watch? In which case, there will be accidents! Incidentally, I have no fancy, schmancy running watch or any such techy kit, it's me, my trainers and a cheap digital watch. Any advice or suggestions gratefully received.

Comments

• MillsyMillsy ✭✭✭
    If you are new to running just concentrate on easy running (conversational pace).

If you want to up your mileage, limit it to 10% extra per week.

Don't try and do too much too soon.

I didn't start doing, speed work, tempo work until I was well into my 3rd marathon.

If you feel like you are doing too much too soon then have a cut back week (reduced volume)
  • There's nothing you are "supposed" to do when running other than put one foot in front of the other.

If you're starting out, the only thing in the way of kit you actually need beside shoes and clothing is a basic stopwatch. Upgrade to something fancier later if you want to.

As for speedwork - don't. Until you've got a decent running base behind you, you could easily get injured I wouldn't think about it until you've been at it at least a year.

In the meantime, think about what your goals are: just getting round in a race? Shorter distances? Longer ones? Being able to run for a certain amount of time without stopping? Once you've decided you can choose a plan on the training tab and take it from there.

PS: hoping the staring at the watch question is a tongue in cheek one - that would be silly right?

PPS: fancy kit and fancy tech won't actually make you a better runner.