Tell me it gets easier!

I don't know whether to be pleased or disappointed - just back in from my first ever run outside and it was hard!  It was my first run for months; in the past I've got up to about 4-5 km on a treadmill and found that reasonable.  But this was hard!  I used the walk/run method which I've never done before but I found I had to.  I probably did about half of each round a 2 km route.  On the one hand I'm so chuffed that I put aside all my fears about people looking at me and just got out there, but I can't see me ever being able to run round the whole way!  I find pacing so hard and I can't get a slow steady speed.  Someone please tell me it does get better!

Woo, my first thread image

Comments

• It DOES get better!  I had never run before (at least not since school, when I hated running with a vengeance) when I randomly decided to go for a jog in March of this year.  It was awful, I could barely breathe and couldn't run at all.  Following that I found the walk-run method on a website called WalkJogRun.net.  There are variations depending on whether you want to start off with more walking than running, or the other way round.  I chose to walk 5 mins to warm up then 1 min running and 3 minutes walking alternated finishing with a 5 min walk to cool down.  When I say 1 min running it was more like a very slow jog but that was as much as I could manage.  Slowly slowly I found I could run a bit quicker, a bit longer, that I needed less walking time to recover.