Couch to Tri

Looking for someone to Train with. I am a complete novice, overweight since giving up smoking. Looking to do a sprint triathlon in September. I have a 22 week couch to tri plan and am looking for someone to train Anyone interested. Would you like to get fit with me or perhaps you would like a project.

Comments

• Where are you? Might get things started anyway!
  • Located in Bridgend South Wales
  • Hi Jacqui,

I am in the same boat as you. If you fancy a virtual training buddy give me a shout.

• That would be great. You can keep I touch with me at janwoodhandknits@hotmail.co.uk. I started yesterday on a beginner's programme. Swam 6 lengths and walked for 20 minutes. Today is my first 2 mile bike ride. I am determined to complete the beginner's sprint triathlon in Bath in September. Do you have a specific goal in mind?
  • Great stuff Jacqui. You might want to delete your email or you'll end up getting spam.

You can reach me on george2011 (at) talktalk (dot) net

I'm greedy and hoping to do an Ironman in 2014. Not absolutely sure which one yet though. You should be good for an IM then too image

I'm starting from about the same level that you are currently on.

• I don't think I will be doing Ironman next year!!!!!!! Done my first two miles on my bike today - really hard. Onwards and up
  • Hi Jaqui,

I'm about the embark on a Couch to Tri program which sounds familar to yours and Ive also entered the Bath Novice Sprint Tri in September (or as I like to call it 170 days away!)

I coming at it from the angle that I've been running for a few months so hopefully the last leg should be fine, I've just bought a classic 1980's road bike (I figure it's got to be better than the commuter I have with attached child seat! (which I've not used in over a year)) which i need to get out around the streets of Devon and I swim like a brick; that can't swim.