Run Walk strategy

Hi, I was reading today that run walk is a good strategy for a 50 mile plus race. This is news to me! The article I read recommended 5 mins run and 1 min walk from the very beginning of the race.The ultra I am doing is flat so just walking up the hills would result in no walking more or less. Any help appreciated.

• Do you run/walk?
  • Is 5:1 (5 min run 1 min walk) a good frequency?
  • Do you start run/walk from the very beginning of the race?
  • How do you measure the 5 min / 1 min? Sounds like a silly question but doesn't looking at your watch or listening for a beep drive you insane over 50 miles?

Comments

• As I'm a newbie to this Ultra lark Khani, I'm keen to hear what others say in answer to your questions......

• I've not done ultras but I have used run-walk on long runs.

5:1 is as good a ratio as any other. It depends on the individual. I like 4:1 or even 3:1 and it affects overall pace less than you might think. Some like 10:1. Experiment and see what's good for you.

I run-walk from the off. The whole point is to preserve your legs, don't wait until you're knackered and are forced to walk because then it's too late.

Use a Garmin or watch or timer device. Otherwise, how do you measure the intervals, be they time or distance?

• Yes.

and yes image no seriously it doesn't really drive you mad, you just get in a habit, you have to do it in your long training runs, you need to make it a habit, and then you just don't really worry, you just do it. 

As well as long training runs don't be afraid of the odd days hiking as great practise as well.

I have tried everything from 4/1 upwards, and am now settling on 10/2 it's the same ratio as your 5/1 BUT, the 2 minute section i find gives me enough time to eat or drink properly, with 1 minute it's all a bit rushed.

If you get really tired then just take out a whole chunk and walk that chunk.