Can I run a half marathon on 2 weeks' training?

I booked my place in the Leeds Half Marathon 2007 quite a while back. I took part in the 2005 and 2006 events and naturally wanted to complete it once again this year...

However, I stopped running altogether at the beginning of March (due to depression/obsessive reasons). But then it got to May and I really missed running - my mood was really down, I wanted that runner's high again etc, so I started up again a week last Friday.

The half marathon is this coming Sunday (13th May) and I really really really want to do it. I don't care how long it takes me to run round.

Do you think I can do it on two weeks' training? Yesterday I managed a 6 mile run (it being only my 5th run since I started running again last Friday). I've been running for over 2 years with the exception of these past two months.

Should I go for it...?!

Anybody else done a half marathon on virtually no training? How did it go?

Help me decide please! x x x

Comments

• I reckon you can finish, yes

but you will have to not be worried about the time

are you going to be ok with that mentally?
  • I don't know... I've completed the last 2 in under 2 hours, so I don't reckon I'm going to do that! But I think just completing it will be better than not doing it at all!

I'm just worried whether or not my legs will carry me, hehe. Don't know if I've got the muscle strength back up yet...
  • Leeds half is quite a big one isnt it
    so even 3 hours would be ok no?

but if you are the obsessive type-would you not be cruel to yourself about doing a slower time?
  • Yeah, 3 hours would be ok. So long as I get the T-shirt :)

I am quite the obsessive type, but I think I'll get over it. I'll train to do another one this year.

I'm nervous now... eek!
  • Summerrain.
    Yes hipps is right. I think there are upwards of 5000 runners at least. Ive missed some training for several reasons, but Im going to just get on and do it, walking if necessary.