Water bottles conundrum

Hi Quick question. I'm fairly new to running with a vest and a backpack on and having been using a bladder for hydration. I can't say I'm a big fan of the bladder, it was giving me a headache in the recent black mountains marathon and I want to try using bottles in the front pocket. Does anyone have any preference on which ones to use? There are so many on the market I'm not sure if there is much difference other than volume. I use a mountain hardware fluid race vest and a kalenji trail bag if that helps. Also does anyone recommend a hand held water bottle with a strap? Cheers Matt

Comments

• Snap!Snap! ✭✭✭

Are you sure it was the bladder giving you a headache? There must have been 101 other factors coming into play.

• Ha I don't mean a literal headache. The bladder tube irritates me and fancy trying bottles instead. 101 factors more like 301.
  • shawkshawk ✭✭✭

Nathan do a handheld, it's changed a bit since I got mine a few years back (mine is quickdraw elite) but it's probably the best bit of running kit I've ever bought. I tried the Ultimate Direction ones in a shop and they felt fine but the Nathan one easily trumped it. Added bonus is it gives your hand a bit of protection whever you fall over. I can carry that thing for 24 hours and still not really know it's there.