Any first timers want to talk about VLM 2015?

Comments

• Ignore the last 10k of a Marathon just remember you have completed 20 miles, hard work doneimage ...now it's cruising time image the sights are better ..Embankment,Thames,  Big Ben, Buck House ..more crowds, as Cougie says a wall of sound ..and best of all the finish line is not far away .. don't forget 'Pain is  weakness leaving the body ' or use your own Mantra image 

• I'm new to this thread and also running on Sunday with very imperfect prep. Feeling really anxious,but this thread has given me a boost - thanks guys image

• Good luck to everyone running VLM on Sunday.  It will be my second time and 3rd mara.  My training has been rubbish so instead of worrying about time I'm aiming to enjoy it...if that's possible.

I love it when I ran it 3 years ago as it was my first marathon. My tips were; have your name on your shirt if you have time now.  I ran by the crowds when I felt tired and people calling my name made me feel like a superstar.  I never believed that the crowds will carry you home until I ran VLM but it's true - you'll see.  You won't need music. You won't be able to hear it.  Don't worry about twinges and sniffles now...they'll magically disappear when you're pumped on race day.  Have a plan to meet people at the end as mobile phone contact can be impossible!

Just believe in yourself and you're training and be proud - very few people ever run a marathon but 98% of those that start VLM finish - odds on you will too!

• What's everyone's training schedule looking like for the final few days? I did 4miles slow this morning and I feel like my knees are aching (taper psychosomatic nonsense I'm sure) so I am thinking about maybe doing 30mins on the cross trainer on Thursday to avoid any more impact on joints but nothing else until race day??

What do you reckon?