Aching feet

Hi all

I posted here a couple of weeks ago, basically when I hit 5 miles my toes become numb and are really quite painful.

Yesterday I bought a new pair of trainers(Adidas), this morNing I ran 11 miles in them, same thing is happening, aching toes at mile 5 and also both the outside of my feet were really hurting, they are not too small for me, I am at a complete loss of what to try next, I am training for a half marathon but right now feel like throwing in the towel!!

Advice gratefully received!

Comments

• If you damaged them in the old shoes then they need to recover ? Rest / ice? Give them a week off then do a few short runs in the new trainers before going further and then see how they are.

• grodergroder ✭✭✭

Thanks book trunk, I feel I need to get to the bottom of why this is happening, I have been running for 10 years and have never experienced anything like this!

• Adjust your laces? Laces that are too tight can cause numbness if they're pinching on a nerve. Try googling different ways of lacing up your shoes and see if that helps.

• grodergroder ✭✭✭

Thanks running rodent this is worth a try for sure!

• senidMsenidM ✭✭✭
    perhaps a silly point, but I never wear the same pair of trainers in succession, always have at least 3 pairs on the go, atm decathlon ld, mizuno wave 15 and a newer pair of wave 17, plus another pair of Mizuno somethings I use for Tris.

I'm not sure if its been proven but I found that my feet problems were lessened by never wearing the same shoes twice in a row, and I've gone through just about every make until I found that Mizuno suited me, but they're not for everyone and you may have to search through the makes until you find out "your" make.
  • grodergroder ✭✭✭

Thanks senidm but I can't really afford to keep buying trainers!

• senidMsenidM ✭✭✭