London marathon accommodation

Hi all, 

As a London marathon newbie, I wondered if anyone had any tips regarding decent accommodation for the night before the London marathon?  Originally I'd booked an apartment nice & close to Greenwich/Blackheath, but I've just found out the landlord has now cancelled [aaah! image

Unsurprisingly all reasonably-priced accom is fully booked up in this area now, so just wondering what others tend to do?  I'm travelling from Cambridge, which doesn't sound that far, but I know how travelling in London can easily become stressful, and I really want to avoid a painfully early and energy-sapping commute by multiple trains on the morning of the race, if I can avoid it!

I know there are road closures etc on the day, so I guess it would be helpful if anyone knew tube stations with reliable connections to Greenwich/Blackheath on the morning of the race? 

Any advice gratefully received!! 

Comments

• I like to stay in the centre so you're handy for the finish.

Trains leave from Charing Cross every few minutes on race day and there's 1000s of us on them. It's so simple.
  • I stay near Tower Bridge, you can get DLR or walk over Tower Bridge to London Bridge station for trains to the start, your supporters can grab a good spot to watch early  while you go to the start. Or you could stay out to the East, Dartford is good, cheap hotels and easy train journey to the start.

Be prepared for an early start whatever you do though, you'll need to be up around 6 am  to get to the start nice and early and soak it all up.

• Check out Premier Inn Croydon, cheaper than London and about 30 minutes train travel from start and finish, or Travelodge Crystal Palace/Penge about 30 minutes train travel to start and about 45 minutes back, any more info let me know

• Cougie - that's good to know (wasn't aware trains were that regular on the day)

Mr Puffy - yes London Bridge sounds like a decent vantage point & Dartford/East would be good value I agree.