London marathon - how long off is too long?

Hi,

I'm training for the 2016 London Marathon, I've been running for a couple of years and have completed plenty of 1/2 marathons (PR 1.35) but nothing like this distance.

Training had been going well but I've suddenly develped either shin splints or a similar injury which has left me having trouble walking long distances let alone running. This is a new injury for me.

I'm obviously taking a break from training and I'm guessing it'll be at least a couple of weeks until I'm able to run again.

The question is how long can I take off at this stage before I should defer the place? I really, really want to run the marathon but I want to be realistic.

Thanks in advance any advice would be gratefully received!

Comments

• You can defer up to the night before the race, so take your time, get over the injury, and train sensibly. If you're prepared to accept a slower time than you originally planned you should be ok. 

• IslandIsland ✭✭✭

While you are resting from running, cross train to keep your fitness up. Swimming, cycling, skating etc.

• Thanks for the replies, I'm off to the docs tomorrow to try and see what the problem is.

What I'm really after is some advice on how long people have taken off a marathon training plan and then managed to catch up and complete the race. If I'm off for a couple of weeks I'm fairly relaxed but if I'm told to take 4 or more weeks off would I be able to up my distance from 13 to 26 miles in the remaining time without causing more problems?

• well you could save yourself some time by skipping the doctor and going to a physio (unless theres one at the surgery). while you're resting, do heel drops and core work.

i cant remember the exact details now, but in 2008 i had bad shin splints in late Feb/march, around the time of t he Liverpool half. I was hoping to run around 3:45 and   I revised my expectations and managed a comfortable 9mm pace until I got cramp on the emankment.