Lactate Threshold Training

Age 51, my HM PBs are just outside 1.30 and 10K just inside 42m, I have been improving for the last five years despite my biological clock working against me!

During races heart rate is average 170 and max 180 although they have been dropping by about 1 beat per year as I age (per expectation).

I follow a 10 week, 3 runs a week schedule.

Intervals at 3.30 to 4.00m pace - 400, 800, 1600.

Tempo at 4.00 to 4.15 pace - 5 to 15K

Sunday Long at 4.30 to 4.45 pace - 12 to 24K

My shiny new watch gives me accurate race predictions and a Vo2 Max of 51.

It tells me my Lactate Threshold is HR 155 and pace 4.46 which seems very slow / easy unless I step up to marathon distance - do you think it may be incorrect?

Also - any suggestions on alternative / additional training ideas - I'd love to go sub 1.30 but training more frequently will be tricky from a time management point of view  and I worry about over training.

I twould be fun to train within a HR zone rather than all pace based training but what upper and lower limits would you suggest for Tempo and Sunday long runs respectively?

Sorry for the lengthy post and thanks in anticipation of any advice.

Comments

• There's no easy runs there is there? I'm sure you'd improve with just more running easy. You're just running a bit too fast for improvement
  • Mikhail, I train to heart rate/perceived effort and run easy and long runs at between 125 and 135 bpm against a max of 180. I do something like a tempo run on a weekly basis covering 6miles or so at around 150bpm. Threshold efforts are around 160 bpm but I don't do them that frequently. Though my watch reckons LT threshold is 157, I am working off the definition of threshold as 10 mile race effort and I have a couple of measured race efforts to go off.  I think the watch has to track more than a few runs before the calculation homes in, but for me the measurements are highly plausible.